



The Swedish National Committee for Radiation Protection Research and the Stockholm University Centre for Radiation Protection Research invite you to the seminar entitled:

Ethics of radiation protection

that will take place on the 29th November 2012 in the Beijersal of the National Academy of Science – (Kungliga Vetenskapsakademien - KVA) - Lilla Frescativägen 4A, Stockholm.

The program:

- 09:30 10:00 Coffee
- 10:00 10:30 Lars Harms-Ringdahl (IRS, Stockholm) Dilemmas in risk assessment
- 10:30 11:00 Sven Ove Hansson (KTH, Stockholm) Radiation ethics and exposure limits
- 11:00 11:30 **Thomas Jonter** (SU, Stockholm) The future of nuclear power after Fukushima
- 11:30 12:00 **Discussion**
- 12:00 13:00 Lunch break
- 13:00 13:30 Jim Malone (Univ Dublin) Ethics of clinical radiology
- 13:30 14:00 **Britt-Marie Drottz Sjöberg** (NTNU Trondheim) The perception of risks of technology
- 14:00 14:30 Coffee break
- 14:30 15:00 Jack Valentin (former ICRP) The cost of life saved in radiation protection
- 15:00 15:30 **Friedo Zölzer** (Univ South Bohemia) Precautionary principle and the ethical foundations of the radiation protection system
- 15:30 16:30 Christian Streffer (Univ Essen) Discussion and conclusions

Please register by sending a mail to **andrzej.wojcik@gmt.su.se**. There is no registration fee, but the number of seats is limited. So please register as early as possible.

The deadline for registration is November 20th.

For further information contact: Andrzej Wojcik, tel 0762 122 744, andrzej.wojcik@gmt.su.se

Information about the speakers and a map of the venue are pasted on the next page

Information about speakers

- Lars Harms-Ringdahl has been professor in Risk Management at KTH and Karlstad
 University and works now at IRS -Institute for risk management in Stockholm, Sweden.
- Sven Ove Hansson is professor of Philosophy at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden.
- Thomas Jonter is professor in International Relations at the Department of Economic History, Stockholm University (SU), Sweden.
- Jim Malone is professor of Medical Physics at Trinity College Dublin and Director of the Robert Boyle Foundation, Ireland.
- Britt-Marie Drottz Sjöberg is professor of Social Psychology at the Norwegian University of Sciences and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim, Norway.
- Jack Valentin is former Scientific Secretary of the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP), Stockholm, Sweden.
- Friedo Zölzer is professor of Radiation Biology at the South Bohemian University in Budweis, Czech Republic.
- Christian Streffer is emeritus professor of Radiation Biology and Emeritus Member of the ICRP Main Commission, University Duisburg-Essen, Germany.

The venue

Beijersal of the National Academy of Science – (Kungliga Vetenskapsakademien - KVA) - Lilla Frescativägen 4A, Stockholm. The venue is marked with 1 below.

